Coverimage About JFBB

"Jewish cinema is not boring"

The Jewish Film Festival Berlin | Brandenburg (JFBB) is the largest Jewish film festival in Germany. It will take place from June 13 to 18, 2023 in Berlin and Potsdam.

For six days, international films of all genres from arthouse films to blockbusters, from historical reflections to family comedies will be shown. The festival illuminates Jewish history, present and future. Often with a wink, but always profound.

Under the motto JEWCY MOVIES, the Jewish Film Festival Berlin and Brandenburg was showing in 2022 43 films and 2 series. The selection shows the range of Jewish experience in the past, present and future, from romantic comedy to concept film, from historical drama to mockumentary. A programmatic journey between menace and joie de vivre, personal stories and big politics, sensuality and discourse - and always true to life.

The festival's mission is also to keep the memory of the Shoa alive, to convey historical awareness and to counter anti-Semitic attitude patterns.

The program selection for the JFBB is in the hands of the Programm collective.

In addition to two competition sections for feature and documentary films, there is Cinema Fermished, the special cinema of the JFBB with a colorful variety of genres, and the section series(s) from Israel.

The other competitions and awards can be found here.

The film program will be complemented by a supporting program. This includes the traditional reception after the opening ceremony, as well as concerts and exhibitions.

Since 2021, with the 27th edition, the JFBB is hosted by the organizers of the Filmfestival Cottbus.


On the history of the Jewish Film Festival Berlin and Brandenburg.

The Jewish Film Festival Berlin and Brandenburg was founded in 1995 by Nicola Galliner, at that time as part of the cultural work of the Jewish Community Berlin.
Organising a Jewish film festival in Berlin, the city from which the Holocaust was prepared, planned and organised, was and is associated with a special responsibility. On the occasion of the festival's 25th anniversary, Nicola Galliner wrote: "One of our great concerns was and is not to depict Jewish life, Jewish biographies in a traditional, often exclusive 'victim role'. Over the years, it has always been important to us to break open this one-sided view and thus expand it to include the given complexity. To show that Judaism is above all one thing, namely highly alive."

Meanwhile, the JFBB is the largest German festival with films on Jewish themes and from Israel.

But what makes a film Jewish?

This has also been a topic of discussion at the Jewish Film Festival Berlin and Brandenburg since its founding. The journalist Henryk M. Broder answered this question in the commemorative publication for the tenth anniversary of the Jewish Film Festival Berlin in his usual pointed way: "Everything that is not boring is Jewish. Because contrary to all prejudices, there is only one area in which Jews do indeed dominate. It is not banking, not the stock exchange, not the game of billiards. It is entertainment, show business. ... So what makes a Jewish film? The same thing that makes a Jewish book or Jewish music. It doesn't bore. No sooner has it begun than it's over. There are 60, 120 or 180 minutes between the beginning and the end, but it's only the perceived time that matters. If it's more than ten minutes, then it's not a Jewish film."

To live up to the excellent reputation of the Jewish Film Festival Berlin and Brandenburg in the world, to continue the successful festival history shaped by Nicola Galliner's actions with his guidelines and at the same time to further develop the festival are the goals of the new managing director duo Doreen Goethe and Andreas Stein, who are already well known in the festival world as the heads of the FilmFestival Cottbus. 2021 marks the first edition of the renowned film festival, which is organised by the JFBB UG, a company set up specifically for this purpose, after founder Nicola Galliner retired.

The aim is to further expand the unique meeting point character of this event in the coming years. On the one hand, the existing audience is to be tied more closely to the festival, and on the other hand, further audience potentials are to be addressed. The role of the event as an industry meeting place is also to be expanded. The JFBB pays special attention to the discovery and promotion of young filmmakers in Germany and Israel.
As part of its work, the Jewish Film Festival Berlin and Brandenburg networks with other festivals, with institutions, museums and foundations, partners from the arts, culture and politics, as well as, of course, film funding bodies, distributors and the filmmakers who are the focus of interest.

Coverimage About JFBB

„Jüdisches Kino langweilt nicht“

Das Jüdische Filmfestival Berlin | Brandenburg (JFBB) ist das größte jüdische Filmfestival in Deutschland. Es findet vom 13. bis 18. Juni 2023 in Berlin und Potsdam statt.

Sechs Tage lang werden internationale Filme aller Genres vom Arthausfilm bis zum Blockbuster, von der Geschichtsreflexion bis zur Familienkomödie gezeigt. Das Festival beleuchtet jüdische Geschichte, Gegenwart und Zukunft. Oft mit einem Augenzwinkern, aber immer tiefgründig.

Unter dem Motto JEWCY MOVIES zeigte das Jüdische Filmfestival Berlin und Brandenburg 2022 43 Filme und 2 Serien. Die Auswahl zeigt die Bandbreite jüdischer Erfahrung in Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft, von der Romantischen Komödie bis zum Konzeptfilm, vom historischen Drama bis zur Mockumentary. Eine programmatische Reise zwischen Bedrohung und Lebenslust, persönlichen Geschichten und großer Politik, Sinnlichkeit und Diskurs – und dabei immer lebensnah.

Aufgabe des Festivals ist es außerdem, die Erinnerung an die Shoa wachzuhalten, Geschichtsbewusstsein zu vermitteln und antisemitischen Einstellungsmustern zu begegnen.

Die Programmauswahl für das JFBB liegt in den Händen des Programmkollektiv.

Neben zwei Wettbewerbssektionen für Spiel- und Dokumentarfilm gibt es Kino Fermished, das besondere Kino des JFBB mit einer bunt gemischten Genre Vielfalt und die Sektion Serie(n) aus Israel.

Die weiteren Wettbewerbe und Preise finden Sie hier.

Das Filmprogramm wird durch ein Rahmenprogramm ergänzt. Dazu gehören der traditionelle Empfang nach der Eröffnungsveranstaltung, sowie Konzerte und Ausstellungen.

Seit 2021, mit der 27. Ausgabe wird das JFBB von den Organisatoren des Filmfestival Cottbus veranstaltet.


Zur Geschichte des Jüdischen Filmfestival Berlin und Brandenburg

Das Jüdische Filmfestival Berlin und Brandenburg wurde 1995 von Nicola Galliner, damals noch im Rahmen der Kulturarbeit der Jüdischen Gemeinde Berlin, gegründet.
Ein jüdisches Filmfestival in Berlin zu organisieren, der Stadt, von der aus der Holocaust vorbereitet, geplant und organisiert wurde, war und ist dabei mit einer besonderen Verantwortung verbunden. Zum 25jährigen Jubiläum des Festivals schrieb Nicola Galliner: „Eines unserer großen Anliegen war und ist es, jüdisches Leben, jüdische Biographien nicht in einer tradierten, oft ausschließlichen ‚Opferrolle‘ abzubilden. In all den Jahren war es uns immer wichtig, diesen einseitigen Blick aufzubrechen und so um die gegebene Komplexität zu erweitern. Aufzuzeigen, dass das Judentum vor allem eines ist, nämlich höchst lebendig.“

Mittlerweile ist das JFBB das größte deutsche Festival mit Filmen zu jüdischen Themen und aus Israel.

Aber was macht nun einen Film jüdisch?

Dieses Thema bewegt auch das Jüdische Filmfestival Berlin und Brandenburg seit seiner Gründung. Der Publizist Henryk M. Broder beantwortete diese in der Festschrift zum zehnjährigen Jubiläum des Jüdischen Filmfestival Berlin gewohnt pointiert: „Alles, was nicht langweilig ist, ist jüdisch. Denn entgegen allen Vorurteilen gibt es nur einen Bereich, in dem Juden in der Tat dominieren. Es ist nicht das Bankwesen, nicht die Börse, nicht das Billard-Spiel. Es ist die Unterhaltung, das Showbusiness. … Was also macht einen jüdischen Film aus? Dasselbe, was ein jüdisches Buch oder jüdische Musik ausmacht. Er langweilt nicht. Kaum, dass er begonnen hat, ist er schon vorbei. Zwischen Anfang und Ende liegen 60, 120 oder 180 Minuten, doch es kommt nur auf die gefühlte Zeit an. Wenn es mehr als zehn Minuten sind, dann ist es kein jüdischer Film.“

Dem exzellenten Ruf des Jüdischen Filmfestival Berlin und Brandenburg in der Welt gerecht werden, die durch Nicola Galliners Tun geprägte, erfolgreiche Festivalhistorie mit dessen Leitlinien fortzuschreiben und gleichzeitig das Festival weiterzuentwickeln, sind die Ziele des neuen Geschäftsführer-Duos Doreen Goethe und Andreas Stein, die in der Festivalwelt als Köpfe des FilmFestival Cottbus bereits bestens bekannt sind. 2021 markiert die erste Ausgabe des renommierten Filmfestivals, das von der eigens dafür ins Leben gerufenen JFBB UG veranstaltet wird, nachdem sich die Gründerin Nicola Galliner in den Ruhestand verabschiedet hat.

Ziel ist es in den kommenden Jahren den einzigartigen Treffpunktcharakter dieser Veranstaltung noch weiter auszubauen. Dabei soll einerseits das vorhandene Publikum näher an das Festival gebunden werden, andererseits weitere Publikumspotenziale angesprochen werden. Die Rolle der Veranstaltung als Branchentreffpunkt soll außerdem ausgebaut werden. Ein besonderes Augenmerk legt das JFBB auf die Entdeckung und Förderung junger Filmemacher in Deutschland und Israel.
Im Rahmen seiner Arbeit vernetzt sich das Jüdische Filmfestival Berlin und Brandenburg mit anderen Festivals, mit Institutionen, Museen und Stiftungen, Partnern aus Kunst, Kultur und Politik sowie natürlich Filmförderungen, Verleihern und den Filmschaffenden, die im Zentrum des Interesses stehen.