UNIQUE VISUAL WORLD FOR THE JEWISH FILM FESTIVAL BERLIN BRANDENBURG: ESRA ROTTHOFF'S ARTWORK

Coverimage Artwork

For the third year in a row, Esra Rotthoff created the artwork, once again creating a new visual world for the JFBB with a familiar, consistent line and a clear goal: to show Jewish life and culture in a contemporary, artistic and aesthetically novel way. The familiar and the different merge into something unprecedented.

In this festival year - in this novel time - photos and a festival trailer were created that reflect the omnipresent situation worldwide as well as Rotthoff's personal view as an artist. "After a period of never-ending walks, you just feel like an explosion of colour," says Rotthoff. This explains the pomegranate whose juice splashes in the motifs, the honey that flows over everything imaginable and the staged ritual that transforms the isolation and gives it an almost fairytale-like celebratory glow. The Jewish New Year Rosh ha-Shanah served as the basis for the conceptual design. Wine, a yeast plait, the menorah - the table is richly laid, but this time not only is the apple dipped in honey, according to the usual custom, but the protagonist herself is doused with honey, thus metaphorically ushering in a life that will hopefully finally become sweeter again.

This was dared - according to Rotthoff's vision - by the actress and scholarship holder Elina Schkolnik, who, when she bites into the apple, does not wrap herself in sleep like Snow White, but undergoes this very transformation. The viewer of the photos and the trailer should also be enchanted by this very ritual. An old custom is thereby exaggerated by the art of staging. The blue hands, which are a reference to the plastic gloves that have become an everyday object, powerfully swing the menorah. Incidentally, this concept was incorporated into a song especially for the festival trailer: "Sweeter Than Honey", sung by the artist Elle ID and realised together with the Israeli-born, London-based producer duo Soho Sonic. This even translates the JFBB concept into music.

Incidentally, the claim SWEET 'N' JEWCY came from the festival management as a reaction to this year's visual world. And so a world comes together that is not only intended to promote the festival, but also to provide a framework for the diverse life worlds of the films and to appeal to the audience: with a desire for more colour, Jewish culture and above all, finally, great cinema on big screens again!

Here is the website: ESRA ROTTHOFF Artist, Art Direction, Photography

Esra Rotthoff's artistic view is a holistic one; her method, the staging of the moment, is the bringing together of the most diverse elements. In pre-planned scenery, what is felt becomes real and thus Rotthoff's planned narrative is captured with the camera. In the process, she develops artistic appearances for large cultural institutions such as the Gorki Theatre and the Dresden State Operetta, gives lectures internationally, teaches and exhibits her free works in galleries and at trade fairs.

Einzigartige Bildwelt für das Jüdische Filmfestival Berlin Brandenburg: Esra Rotthoffs Artwork

Coverimage Artwork

Im dritten Jahr in Folge kreierte Esra Rotthoff das Artwork und schafft dabei wieder eine neue Bildwelt für das JFBB mit bekannt-beständiger Linie und klarem Ziel: Das jüdische Leben und die Kultur zeitgenössisch-künstlerisch und ästhetisch-neuartig zu zeigen. Altbekanntes und Andersartiges verschmelzen zu etwas nie Dagewesenem.

In diesem Festivaljahr – in dieser neuartigen Zeit – entstanden Fotos und ein Festivaltrailer, die die weltweit allgegenwärtige Situation sowie auch Rotthoffs persönliche Sicht als Künstlerin widerspiegeln und reflektieren. „Nach einer Zeit der nicht enden wollenden Spaziergänge hat man einfach Lust auf eine Farbexplosion“, so Rotthoff. Das erklärt den Granatapfel, dessen Saft in der Motivik spritzt, den Honig, der über alles Erdenkliche fließt und das inszenierte Ritual, das die Isolation verwandelt und fast märchenhaft feierlich erstrahlen lässt. Das jüdische Neujahrsfest Rosch ha-Schana diente dabei als Grundlage für die konzeptionelle Umsetzung. Wein, ein Hefezopf, die Menora – es ist reich gedeckt, doch diesmal wird nicht nur, dem üblichen Brauch nach, der Apfel in Honig getunkt, sondern die Protagonistin wird selbst mit Honig übergossen und soll damit metaphorisch das hoffentlich endlich wieder süßer werdende Leben einleiten.

Dies traute sich – nach Rotthoffs Vision – die Schauspielerin und Stipendiatin Elina Schkolnik, die sich beim Biss in den Apfel nicht wie Schneewittchen in Schlaf hüllt, sondern eben diese Verwandlung durchmacht. So soll auch der Betrachter der Fotos und des Trailers verzaubert werden, durch eben dieses Ritual. Ein alter Brauch wird dabei übersteigert durch die Kunst der Inszenierung. Die blauen Hände, die sich als Anlehnung an die zum Alltagsgegenstand gewordenen Plastikhandschuhe wiederfinden, schwingen kraftvoll die Menora. Im Übrigen wurde eigens für den Festivaltrailer dieses Konzept in einem Song verarbeitet: „Sweeter Than Honey“, gesungen von der Künstlerin Elle ID und gemeinsam mit dem aus Israel stammenden und in London lebenden Produzentenduo Soho Sonic realisiert. Womit das JFBB-Konzept sogar in die Musik übertragen wird.

Der Claim SWEET ’N’ JEWCY kam übrigens von Seiten der Festivalleitung als Reaktion auf die diesjährige Bildwelt. Und so fügt sich eine Welt zusammen, die nicht nur das Festival bewerben soll, sondern einen Rahmen bildet für die verschiedensten Lebenswelten der Filme und die das Publikum ansprechen möchte: mit Lust auf mehr Farbe, jüdische Kultur und vor allem endlich wieder großes Kino auf großen Leinwänden!

Hier die Website: ESRA ROTTHOFF Künstlerin, Artdirektion, Fotografie

Esra Rotthoffs künstlerischer Blick ist ein Ganzheitlicher, ihre Methode, die Inszenierung des Augenblicks ist das Zusammenbringen verschiedenster Elemente. In vorab geplanter Szenerie wird das Gefühlte real und so das von Rotthoff geplante Narrativ mit der Kamera festgehalten. Dabei entwickelt sie künstlerische Erscheinungsbilder für große Kulturhäuser wie auch dem Gorki Theater und der Staatsoperette Dresden, hält international Vorträge, lehrt und stellt ihre freien Arbeiten in Galerien und auf Messen aus.