Coverimage Awards
© André Hercher

Every year and in memory of cinema legend Gershon (Gerhard) Klein, who died in 1999 at the age of 79, the Klein family presents the Gershon Klein Awards in two JFBB competitions. In the year 2022, the 28th JFBB will present a total of four awards:

Feature Film Competition
Gershon Klein Feature Film Award
The prize is awarded to a director and comes with prize money of 3,000 EUR.

Competition Documentary Film
Gershon Klein Documentary Film Award
The prize is awarded to a director and is endowed with a prize money of 3,000 EUR.

Prize for Intercultural Dialogue, endowed with prize money of 2,000 EUR from iSQI Inc.

Prize for the promotion of young filmmaker, endowed with prize money of 1,000 EUR by Stephan Goericke.

JFBB&Seret Audience Award for Best Israeli Film

The prize of 3,000 euros is awarded by an international jury of critics.

  • 2005 WATERMARKS by Yaron Zilberman (Israel/France/USA 2004)
  • 2006 USHPIZIN by Gidi Dar (Israel 2004)
  • 2007 FIVE DAYS by Yoav Shamir (Israel 2005)
  • 2008 MY FATHER, MY LORD by David Volach (Israel 2007)
  • 2009 VALENTINA'S MOTHER by Arik Lubetzky and Matti Harari (Israel 2008)
  • 2010 A FILM UNFINISHED by Yael Hersonski (Israel 2009)
  • 2011 GEI ONI by Dan Wolman (Israel 2010)
  • 2012 FOOTNOTE by Joseph Cedar (Israel 2011)
  • 2013 ZAYTUN by Eran Riklis (Israel/UK/France 2012)
  • 2014 FRAGILE by Vidi Bilu (Israel 2013)
  • 2015 AM ENDE EIN FEST by Tal Granit and Sharon Mayman (Israel/Germany 2014)
  • 2016 DIBBUK - A WEDDING IN POLAND by Marcin Wrona (Poland/Israel 2015)
  • 2017 1945 by Ferenc Törönk (Hungary 2017)
  • 2018 THE CAKEMAKER by Ofir Raul Graizer (Israel/ Germany 2017)
  • 2019 FIG TREE by Aäläm-Wärqe Davidian (Israel 2019)
  • 2020 THE END OF LOVE von Keren Ben Rafael (Frankreich/ Israel 2019)
  • 2021 THE PAINTED BIRD von Václav Marhoul (A/CZ/SK/2019)

Newly introduced in 2021!


Newly introduced in 2021.

ENDPHASE (AT/2020) Hans Hochstöger

  • 2021 DISPLACED von Sharon Ryba-Kahn (Germany 2020)