The juries of the 30th festival edition


Feature film competition

Marcia Jarmel director | US

Marcia Jarmel – Marcia Jarmel is an award-winning independent filmmaker based in the San Francisco Bay Area, and Director of Filmmaker Services at the Jewish Film Institute where she oversees the Institute's renowned Filmmaker Residency and Completion Grants programs, which serve a national and international community of independent filmmakers. She co-founded PatchWorks Films with husband-collaborator Ken Schneider in 1994 and has been producing, directing, and managing impact for their slate of award-winning films for over two decades. Together, they’ve produced five feature documentaries and many shorts including Los Hermanos/The Brothers (PBS/Arte film) which was nominated for Best Music Documentary by the International Documentary Association and awarded Best Documentary at the Woodstock Film Festival. Marcia's work has been funded by public broadcasting's Independent Television Service (ITVS), Latino Public Broadcasting (LPB), and the Center for Asian American Media (CAAM), the National Endowment for the Arts, and many others. She has taught both undergrad and graduate film courses at NYU and Chapman University and has been honored with residencies with Working Films, the Fledgling Fund, SFFilm, the Kopkind Colony, and BAVC's Media Maker. She has served as a juror for the Emmys, BAVC MediaMaker, and many film festivals. Information on her work can be found at patchworksfilms.net.

Garry Fischmann Actor | DE

Garry Fischmann, born as the child of contingent refugees from the former Soviet Union, found his new home in Germany. Growing up in the Charlottenburg district of Berlin, he regularly spent his summer vacations in the Machane. As a teenager, he appeared in a regular role in the youth series "Schloß Einstein". After graduating from a Jewish high school, he became better known for his role in "Allein unter Nachbarn". He completed his acting training at the renowned Hochschule für Musik und Theater in Rostock. Immediately after graduating, he dedicated himself to further film and television projects as well as stage appearances. From 2016 to 2018, he was a permanent member of the ensemble at Theater Münster. However, he mainly became known to a wider audience as detective inspector Max Nordmann, a role he played for three years in the series "SOKO Hamburg". Most recently, he impressed alongside Jella Haase in the Netflix series "Kleo". He will soon be seen in Hamburg's "Tatort: Die kälteste Maschine" and in the UFA production "Der Polizeiseelsorger (AT)", where he plays the lead role of liberal rabbi Samuel Rivkin. In addition to his acting career, Fischmann also appears as a stand-up comedian on numerous Berlin stages.

Albert Wiederspiel Film Scientist | PL

As a result of anti-Semitic riots during the March 1968 riots in Poland, the family had to emigrate to Denmark in 1969. Wiederspiel grew up in Copenhagen and studied film studies in Paris. After graduating, he started as a trainee at 20th Century Fox International in 1985, from where he moved to 20th Century Fox of Germany as head of PR and then marketing, a position he held until 1995. From 1996 to 2000, he was Head of Marketing and finally General Manager - Theatrical at PolyGram Film Entertainment and Universal Pictures Germany. Wiederspiel is a member of the European Film Academy and was appointed Chevalier de l'ordre des Arts et des Lettres (Knight of the Order of Arts and Letters) in 2013. He was director of the Hamburg Film Festival until 2023.


Jury Documentary Film Competition

Yuriy Gurzhy musician/DJ/composer/author | UA

Yuriy Gurzhy is a musician, DJ, composer and author. He was born in Kharkiv in 1975 and has lived in Berlin since 1995. There he founded the
party series Russendisko (1999-2014) together with the writer Wladimir Kaminer. With the band RotFront, he produced the
musical analogy to a Molotov cocktail of garage rock, reggae, ska, hip hop and Eastern European folk music. He writes film and theater music. In January 2022, his book "Richard Wagner and the Klezmer Band" was published, in which he set out in search of the new Jewish sound in Germany. Since February 2022, Yuriy Gurzhy has been keeping a regular war diary in the Tagesspiegel about the Russian war of aggression in Ukraine.

Britta Wauer Writer/Director/Producer | DE

Britta Wauer is a Berlin-based writer, director and producer of a number of award-winning documentaries (including "Im Himmel, unter der Erde", "Rabbi Wolff", "Die Rapoports"). With her company Britzka Film, the Grimme Award winner also produces commissioned works for international exhibitions, museums and foundations. From 2020 to 2023, she was Professor of Time-based Media: Filmic Storytelling at Wismar University of Applied Sciences. Britta Wauer studied directing at the German Film and Television Academy Berlin (DFFB) and previously trained at the Berlin School of Journalism. She is a member of the German Film Academy.

Dr. Felicia Waldman Professor/Director Bucharest Film Festival | RU

Dr. Felicia Waldman is associate professor and coordinator of the Center for Hebrew Studies at the Faculty of Letters, University of Bucharest. Her expertise includes Romanian Jewish history and heritage, Holocaust education, public policies and practices of remembrance. She has published 5 books, edited and co-edited 4 volumes, authored over 50 articles and coordinated over 20 projects on these topics. She was a member of the honorary board of the Bucharest Jewish Film Festival in 2011 and 2014 and Director of BJFF in 2017. Since 2018 she has been scientific director of BJFF. She was also scientific consultant for several films (Jewish Cemeteries of Bukovina and Moldova, documentary film produced by Art Promo Foundation under a project sponsored by the Department for Interethnic Relations of the Romanian Government, 2016; Jewish Writers in World War I, documentary film produced by Mihai Visinescu under a project dedicated to the Centennial of the Unification of Romania, 2018; Jewish Heroes in World War I, documentary film produced by Mihai Visinescu under a project dedicated to the Centennial of the Unification of Romania, 2018; Jewish trails in Romania, documentary film produced by Art Promo Foundation under a project sponsored by the Department for Interethnic Relations of the Romanian Government, 2019).

Die Jurys der 30. Festivalausgabe


Wettbewerb Spielfilm

Marcia Jarmel Filmemacherin | US

Marcia Jarmel ist eine preisgekrönte Filmemacherin und Direktorin des Filmmaker Service am Jewish Film Institute, wo sie die renommierten Programme "Filmmaker Residency" und "Completion Grants" des Instituts leitet. Sie ist Mitbegründerin von PatchWorks Films mit ihrem Ehemann und Mitarbeiter Ken Schneider im Jahr 1994, wo sie seit über zwei Jahrzehnten als Produzentin, Regisseurin und Managerin tätig ist. Gemeinsam haben sie fünf Dokumentarspielfilme und viele Kurzfilme produziert, darunter Los Hermanos/The Brothers (PBS/Arte-Film), der von der International Documentary Association für den besten Musikdokumentarfilm nominiert und beim Woodstock Film Festival als bester Dokumentarfilm ausgezeichnet wurde. Marcias Arbeit wurde vom Independent Television Service (ITVS) des öffentlichen Rundfunks Service (ITVS), Latino Public Broadcasting (LPB) und dem Center for Asian American Media (CAAM), dem National Endowment for the Arts und vielen anderen gefördert. Sie hat an der NYU und der Chapman University unterrichtet und wurde von Working Films, dem Fledgling Fund, SFFilm, der Kopkind Colony und dem BAVC's Media Maker mit Stipendien ausgezeichnet. Sie wae Jurorin für die Emmys, den BAVC MediaMaker und viele Filmfestivals. Informationen über ihre Arbeit finden Sie unter patchworksfilms.net.

Garry Fischmann Schauspieler | DE

Garry Fischmann, geboren als Kind von Kontingentflüchtlingen aus der ehemaligen Sowjetunion, fand seine neue Heimat in Deutschland. Aufgewachsen im Berliner Bezirk Charlottenburg, verbrachte er seine Sommerferien regelmäßig im Machane. Bereits in seiner Teenagerzeit trat er in einer festen Rolle in der Jugendserie "Schloß Einstein" auf. Nach seinem Abitur an einer jüdischen Oberschule erlangte er größere Bekanntheit durch seine Rolle in „Allein unter Nachbarn“. Seine schauspielerische Ausbildung absolvierte er an der renommierten Hochschule für Musik und Theater in Rostock. Unmittelbar nach seinem Abschluss widmete er sich weiteren Film- und Fernsehprojekten sowie Bühnenauftritten. Von 2016 bis 2018 war er festes Ensemblemitglied des Theaters Münster. Einem breiteren Publikum wurde er jedoch hauptsächlich als Kriminalkommissar Max Nordmann bekannt, eine Rolle, die er drei Jahre lang in der Serie „SOKO Hamburg“ verkörperte. Zuletzt beeindruckte er an der Seite von Jella Haase in der Netflix-Serie „Kleo“. Demnächst wird er im Hamburger „Tatort: Die kälteste Maschine“ und in der UFA-Produktion „Der Polizeiseelsorger (AT)“ zu sehen sein, wo er die Hauptrolle des liberalen Rabbiners Samuel Rivkin übernimmt. Neben seiner Schauspielkarriere tritt Fischmann auch als Stand-Up-Comedian auf zahlreichen Berliner Bühnen auf.

Albert Wiederspiel Filmwissenschaftler | PL

Als Folge von antisemitischen Ausschreitungen während der März-Unruhen 1968 in Polen musste die Familie 1969 nach Dänemark auswandern. Wiederspiel wuchs in Kopenhagen auf und studierte Filmwissenschaft in Paris. Nach dem Studium begann er 1985 als Trainee bei 20th Century Fox Intl., von wo er als PR- und schließlich Marketingleiter zu 20th Century Fox of Germany wechselte und bis 1995 tätig war. Von 1996 bis 2000 war er Marketingleiter und schließlich General Manager – Theatrical bei PolyGram Film Entertainment und Universal Pictures Germany. Wiederspiel ist Mitglied in der European Film Academy und wurde 2013 zum Chevalier de l’ordre des Arts et des Lettres (Ritter im Orden für Kunst und Literatur) ernannt. Er war bis 2023 Leiter des Filmfestes Hamburg.


Jury Wettbewerb Dokumentarfilm

Yuriy Gurzhy Musiker/DJ/Komponist/Autor | UA

Yuriy Gurzhy ist Musiker, DJ, Komponist und Autor. Er wurde 1975 in Kharkiv geboren und lebt seit 1995 in Berlin. Dort gründete er die
Partyreihe Russendisko (1999-2014) zusammen mit dem Schriftsteller Wladimir Kaminer. Mit der Band RotFront produzierte er die
musikalische Analogie zu einem Molotow-Cocktail aus Garagenrock, Reggae, Ska, Hiphop und osteuropäischer Volksmusik. Er schreibt Film- und Theatermusik. Im Januar 2022 erschien sein Buch „Richard Wagner und die Klezmerband“, in dem er sich auf die Suche nach dem neuen jüdischen Sound in Deutschland begab. Seit Februar 2022 führt Yuriy Gurzhy im Tagesspiegel ein regelmäßiges Kriegstagebuch über den russischen Angriffskrieg auf die Ukraine.

Britta Wauer Autorin/Regisseurin/Produzentin | DE

Britta Wauer ist eine Berliner Autorin, Regisseurin und Produzentin einer Reihe von ausgezeichneten Dokumentarfilmen (u.a. „Im Himmel, unter der Erde“, „Rabbi Wolff“, „Die Rapoports“). Mit ihrer Firma Britzka Film produziert die Grimme-Preisträgerin auch Auftragswerke für internationale Ausstellungen, Museen und Stiftungen. Von 2020 bis 2023 war sie Professorin für Zeitbasierte Medien: Filmisches Erzählen an der Hochschule Wismar. Britta Wauer hat Regie an der Deutschen Film- und Fernsehakademie Berlin (DFFB) studiert und zuvor eine Ausbildung an der Berliner Journalisten-Schule absolviert. Sie ist Mitglied der Deutschen Filmakademie.

Dr. Felicia Waldman Professorin/Leiterin Filmfestival Bukarest | RU

Dr. Felicia Waldman ist außerordentliche Professorin und Koordinatorin des Zentrums für hebräische Studien an der Fakultät für Literatur der Universität Bukarest. Zu ihren Fachgebieten gehören die rumänisch-jüdische Geschichte und das jüdische Erbe, die Holocaust-Erziehung, die öffentliche Politik und die Praxis des Gedenkens. Sie hat 5 Bücher veröffentlicht, 4 Bände herausgegeben und mit herausgegeben, über 50 Artikel verfasst und über 20 Projekte zu diesen Themen koordiniert. In den Jahren 2011 und 2014 war sie Mitglied des Ehrenvorstands des Bukarester Jüdischen Filmfestivals und 2017 Direktorin des BJFF. Seit 2018 ist sie die wissenschaftliche Leiterin des BJFF. Sie war auch wissenschaftliche Beraterin für mehrere Filme (Jewish Cemeteries of Bukovina and Moldova, Dokumentarfilm, produziert von der Art Promo Foundation im Rahmen eines von der Abteilung für interethnische Beziehungen der rumänischen Regierung geförderten Projekts, 2016; Jewish Writers in World War I, Dokumentarfilm, produziert von Mihai Visinescu im Rahmen eines Projekts zur Hundertjahrfeier der Wiedervereinigung Rumäniens, 2018; Jüdische Helden im Ersten Weltkrieg, Dokumentarfilm, produziert von Mihai Visinescu im Rahmen eines Projekts zum hundertjährigen Jubiläum der Wiedervereinigung Rumäniens, 2018; Jüdische Spuren in Rumänien, Dokumentarfilm, produziert von der Art Promo Foundation im Rahmen eines von der Abteilung für interethnische Beziehungen der rumänischen Regierung geförderten Projekts, 2019).