section Documentary Film Competition

ENDPHASE

  • Hans Hochstöger
  • AT
  • 2020
  • 86 Min

May 1945, the last days of the war. 228 Jewish women, children and men are murdered in a village in Austria. The crime is kept secret for 75 years, the perpetrators are never brought to justice. The film looks for explanations. From the last survivors, but also in the village itself. An investigative protocol about a massacre and its suppression, vengeance and a new beginning.

"ENDPHASE is one of the last films made with contemporary witnesses about the crimes of the Nazi regime. Many of our protagonists died during the filming. I hope that my film will make a small contribution to not forgetting these crimes and to keeping the memory of the victims alive even after the death of the last eyewitnesses." (Hans Hochstöger)


watch movie online


Credits

original title ENDPHASE

international title ENDPHASE

german title ENDPHASE

JFBB section Documentary Film Competition

  • director Hans Hochstöger

country/countries AT

year 2020

duration 86 Min


Portrait of Hans Hochstöger

Hans Hochstöger

BIO Hans Hochstöger studied photography and audiovisual media in Vienna. Since 2010 he has been working as a photographer for international magazines and companies between Vienna and Istanbul. In addition to client assignments, he documented Turkish-Austrian migration and the construction of the Ilisu Dam in southeastern Turkey in long-term projects. The film ENDPHASE about a forgotten, last massacre of World War 2 in his hometown in Lower Austria is his debut as a filmmaker.

Sektion Wettbewerb Dokumentarfilm

ENDPHASE

  • Hans Hochstöger
  • AT
  • 2020
  • 86 Min

Mai 1945, die letzten Kriegstage. In einem Dorf in Österreich werden 228 jüdische Frauen, Kinder und Männer ermordet. Die Tat wird 75 Jahre verschwiegen, die Täter nie zur Rechenschaft gezogen. Der Film sucht nach Erklärungen. Bei den letzten Überlebenden, aber auch im Dorf. Ein investigatives Protokoll über ein Massaker und seine Verdrängung, Rache und Neubeginn.

"ENDPHASE ist einer der letzten Filme, der mit Zeitzeugen über die Verbrechen des Naziregimes gedreht wurde. Viele unserer ProtagonistInnenen starben während der Dreharbeiten. Ich hoffe, dass mein Film einen kleinen Beitrag dazu leisten wird, diese Verbrechen nicht zu vergessen und die Erinnerung an die Opfer auch nach dem Tod der letzten ZeitzeugInnen lebendig zu halten." (Hans Hochstöger)


Film online ansehen


Credits

Originalitel ENDPHASE

Internationaler Titel ENDPHASE

Deutscher Titel ENDPHASE

JFBB Sektion Wettbewerb Dokumentarfilm

  • Regisseur Hans Hochstöger

Land/Länder AT

Jahr 2020

Dauer 86 Min


Portrait of Hans Hochstöger

Hans Hochstöger

BIO Hans Hochstöger studierte Fotografie und audiovisuelle Medien in Wien. Seit 2010 arbeitet er als Fotograf für internationale Magazine und Unter­nehmen zwischen Wien und Istanbul. Neben Kundenaufträgen dokumentierte er in Langzeitprojekten türkisch-österreichische Migration und den Bau des Ilisu-Staudamms in der Südosttürkei. Der Film ENDPHASE über ein vergessenes, letztes Massaker des 2. Weltkriegs in seinem Heimatort in Niederösterreich ist sein Debut als Filmemacher.