section Documentary Film Competition

DISPLACED

  • Sharon Ryba-Kahn
  • DE
  • 2020
  • 87 Min

Sharon is Jewish and a third generation Shoah survivor. When, after seven years of silence, her father gets in touch with her again, she begins to scrutinise the family’s complex relations. In the process questions are also asked of her non-Jewish environment and the ways in which a shared past is processed in this dialogue-embracing documentary that openly broaches uncomfortable questions.

“In DISPLACED I wanted to confront my relationship with Germany and my father's family history offered me the framework within which to do this. The film was a chance for me to take an in-depth look. I had always known that the gap between the Jewish and non-Jewish discourses was enormous.” (Sharon Ryba-Kahn)


watch movie online


Credits

original title DISPLACED

international title DISPLACED

german title DISPLACED

JFBB section Documentary Film Competition

  • director Sharon Ryba-Kahn

country/countries DE

year 2020

duration 87 Min


Portrait of Sharon Ryba-Kahn

Sharon Ryba-Kahn

BIO The French-Israeli director was born in Munich in 1983. Sharon spent her first 14 years in Munich before moving to Jerusalem in 1997. After directing and acting in several theater productions, she continued her education at NYFA and studied film production. In 2007, she moved to Berlin and began working as a freelancer in the film industry as a casting director, A.D. and voice actor. Her first feature-length documentary RECOGNITION was released in 2015 and screened at over 20 film festivals worldwide. In Israel, it premiered at the Jerusalem Jewish Film Festival in December 2015, was shown in a special screening at the Cinema South Film Festival in Sderot in 2016, and screened again at the Tel Aviv Cinematheque. In Germany, RECOGNITION (German title: HAKARA) had a brief theatrical distribution in 2017. To hone her craft as a director, Sharon applied to Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF Film University and was accepted into the prestigious MA program in Documentary Directing. During her master's program, Sharon realized three short films and her graduation film DISPLACED which was produced by the renowned production company TONDOWSKI FILMS. The film successfully celebrated its world premiere during the Covid 19 pandemic at DOK.fest Munich (online). DISPLACED was also nominated for the First Steps Award in the documentary category and will be released in German cinemas in 2021. Sharon is currently working on an artistic-scientific dissertation at the Babelsberg Film University and is an ELES Research Fellow (Ernst Ludwig Ehrlich Studienwerk). In addition, she is working on her feature-length documentary LOVE TILL 120, an Israeli-German co-production, for which she received a grant from the "Zurückgeben" Foundation.

Sektion Wettbewerb Dokumentarfilm

DISPLACED

  • Sharon Ryba-Kahn
  • DE
  • 2020
  • 90 Min

Sharon ist Jüdin und Angehörige der dritten Generation von Überlebenden der Shoah. Als sich nach sieben Jahren Funkstille der Vater bei ihr meldet, hinterfragt sie das schwierige Familienverhältnis. Dabei kommen auch Fragen an ihr nicht-jüdisches Umfeld und den Umgang mit der gemeinsamen Vergangenheit auf den Tisch. Diskursfreudiger Dokumentarfilm, der unbequeme Fragen offen ausspricht.

"In DISPLACED wollte ich mich mit meiner Beziehung zu Deutschland auseinandersetzen und die Familiengeschichte meines Vaters bot mir den Rahmen dafür. Der Film war für mich eine Chance, mich intensiv damit auseinanderzusetzen. Ich wusste schon immer, dass die Kluft zwischen dem jüdischen und dem nicht-jüdischen Diskurs enorm ist." (Sharon Ryba-Kahn)


Film online ansehen


Credits

Originalitel DISPLACED

Internationaler Titel DISPLACED

Deutscher Titel DISPLACED

JFBB Sektion Wettbewerb Dokumentarfilm

  • Regisseur Sharon Ryba-Kahn

Land/Länder DE

Jahr 2020

Dauer 90 Min


Portrait of Sharon Ryba-Kahn

Sharon Ryba-Kahn

BIO Die französisch-israelische Regisseurin wurde 1983 in München geboren. Sharon verbrachte ihre ersten 14 Jahre in München, bevor sie 1997 nach Jerusalem zog. Im Jahr 2001 zog sie nach Paris, um Schauspiel zu studieren. Nachdem sie in verschiedenen Theaterproduktionen Regie führte und auch selbst mitspielte, setzte sie ihre Ausbildung an der NYFA fort und studierte Filmproduktion. Im Jahr 2007 zog sie nach Berlin und begann, als freiberufliche Mitarbeiterin in der Filmindustrie als Casting Director, A.D. und Synchronsprecherin zu arbeiten. Ihr erster abendfüllender Dokumentarfilm RECOGNITION erschien 2015 und wurde weltweit auf über 20 Filmfestivals gezeigt. In Israel hatte er im Dezember 2015 auf dem Jerusalem Jewish Film Festival Premiere, wurde 2016 auf dem Cinema South Film Festival in Sderot in einer Sondervorführung gezeigt und erneut in der Kinemathek von Tel Aviv gezeigt. In Deutschland hatte RECOGNITION (deutscher Titel: HAKARA) 2017 einen kurzen Kinoverleih. Um ihr Handwerk als Regisseurin zu verbessern, bewarb sich Sharon an der Filmuniversität Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF und wurde in den renommierten MA-Studiengang für Dokumentarfilmregie aufgenommen. Während ihres Masterstudiengangs realisierte Sharon drei Kurzfilme und ihren Abschlussfilm DISPLACED der von der Produktionsfirma TONDOWSKI FILMS produziert wurde. Der Film feierte während der Covid-19-Pandemie beim DOK.fest München (online) erfolgreich seine Weltpremiere. DISPLACED wurde zudem in der Kategorie Dokumentarfilm für den First Steps Award nominiert und kommt in 2021 in die deutschen Kinos. Zurzeit arbeitet Sharon an einer künstlerisch-wissenschaftlichen Dissertation an der Filmuniversität Babelsberg und ist ELES Research Fellow (Ernst Ludwig Ehrlich Studienwerk). Zu dem arbeitet sie an ihrem abendfüllenden Dokumentarfilm LOVE TILL 120, eine israelisch-deutsche Koproduktion, wofür sie ein Stipendium der Stiftung „Zurückgeben“ erhielt.